What ever happened to Pierrot?

I’ve been contemplating this for some time now. Those of you born around 1970 will remember the explosion of Pierrot as a design on merchandise in the early 80’s.

I owned notebooks, folders, duvet cover and even a real Half China Pierrot doll (soft body with China head and limbs) and was totally in love with the delicate pink and grey enhanced monochrome images of the French clown adorned with a single tear on his cheek.

I even composed a song for my mournful companion to commemorate the reason for that tear- a long lost love for his Pierrette.

Pierrot, Pierrot

On the shop shelf all alone

Crying for your Pierette

For the love you’ll never get

That is why my Pierrot

You’ll always cry, sad Pierrot

Pierrot when you were born

You looked so sad and forlorn

The toymaker painted a tear

Where Pierrette kissed you my dear

That is why my Pierrot

You’ll always cry, sad Pierrot.

Pierrot sweet doll I know

That your tear will never go

That in whoever’s arms you lie

Pierrot, you’ll always cry

That is why, my Pierrot

You’ll always cry, sad Pierrot.

I was about 11 when I wrote that and I remember singing it to my friends in our tent at ponycamp in the summer of 1980; there wasn’t a dry eye in the tent!

Sadly I lost my beloved doll, a birthday gift from my brother when I was 10, I think, when I moved house and had to ‘let go’ of surplus clutter.

I miss him.

The same brother also bought me a wicker armchair to sit the doll in. He took pride of place in every home I had until about 1997 when I believe he was eventually consigned to the ‘rubbish’ pile. He had a repeat fracture on his right leg, his ‘ruff’ had lost its elastic and his cap had come away from his head. He did look old and rather junky so my partner suggested it might be time to ‘let him go.’

Now I’m in mourning for my childhood friend, I want to buy stationary adorned with the delicate pink/grey design and re-embark on a creative journey within my imagination.

Do you remember this melancholy clown? I’d love to hear your memories.

Leave a Reply

