Memory. A Poem

11262014_10205200475756801_3443540760222611580_n

Memory

I remember… I remember… I forget what I remember.

I knew it. I know I knew it.

I had it right here on the tip of my…right here. (points to tongue)

I KNOW I know it!

Try counting? Numbers? Well that’s easy isn’t it: ( watches thumb and fingers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

Oh, is that not right?

They’re all here, all my digits, my sausages, my wiggly pink piggies.

No! Wait…aren’t my piggies my toes?

So what are these? Yes, of course, they’re my numbers – silly me!

 

There’s something, something, – wait a minute – there’s something I must say,

to tell you, its important, I mustn’t let this one get away…

But tell me, what was it you wanted anyway?

Why do you look at me like that? You look so sad, poor soul,

You’re crying! Why, whatever could be wrong?

Only moments ago we were dancing along to our favourite song, as Jenny bashed out a tune on the old piano, and the whole crowd sang along

And everybody was happy, so please  darling, stop your crying and tell me what is wrong?

And…Who are you? You’re old

…and you smell funny, like  fishermans  friends, have you got a cold?

 

Ah , here’s the nurse, I like this one – she winks and tells such naughty jokes.

Her uniform of blue and white barely covers her ample bosom and sturdy thighs.

they say she’s got a ‘nurses behind.’

I wonder who’s poorly? And why the nurse is here at all – with her contraptions, and pills and potions – oh look at that picture on the wall!

A beautiful sunset over the ocean, Those colours always make me smile…

Or maybe it’s the pills I take – I might lie down here for a while

Who are you? (recoils)  Please don’t touch me

Mother taught me to say no

To gentlemen with kindly eyes – to gentlemen like you

Can you please tell my husband that I’m waiting. I can’t think where he can be,

Oh yes! Of course, he’s off to town to sign up with the army

They say that war is coming and we have to be prepared

Can I offer you a piece of cake, it’s chocolate Don’t be scared

just one piece won’t make you fat

Sit down and talk awhile,

Who are you?

Is it time to go?

You’ve such a lovely smile.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Memory. A Poem

  1. Thanks for sharing this personal account. It’s sad and happy at the same time but I guess you need to abandon all thoughts of truth and reason otherwise you’d go nuts…
    I hope you write more
    Thinking of you
    Tony

    Like

Leave a Reply

