She Stories Day 5

The Roberta-Lee Project

I kinda just decided to use this blog to write my SHE stories, so the first few days are missing – I’ll riff this one and maybe go back and fill in the gaps.

So, the Menarche story – mine is a strange little tale. My own mother creating the ‘Secret’ of menstruation strongly within me before I began to bleed: The most vital thing is ‘Don’t Let The Boys See!’

I lived with my mum and dad and two older brothers – who were not to be ‘bothered’ with my menstruation. I was to keep everything hidden, clean and not mention it. In fact ‘not mentioning’ things was a bit of a thing in my house. At the time it was under the guise of ‘keeping your business private’ , but as time has gone on I have wondered if there was, in fact, some deep, dark, secret they…

View original post 1,564 more words

Leave a Reply

