The True Art of Story Telling and why You need a Word Smith on your Team.

I am a story teller. I can’t help it. Whatever I am doing, who ever I am with, I end up telling stories. Stories about my life, to help them understand me more; stories about experiences I have gone through, that will offer them guidance as they approach a similar experience and, as a spiritual person, I also tell stories in metaphor, to explain the unseen, the unknown and the deeply felt.
I am also a great promoter. I enthuse over the achievements of others and love nothing more than trumpeting about my latest discovery.
‘Why are you this way?’ I am often asked. And THAT is an excellent question.
I have always been blessed with a ‘way with words’. I wrote stories and poems as a small child and I positively delight in the complexities of grammar and punctuation (It’s weird, I know). Words are my natural expression. I love to talk – no one who knows me would dispute that. I love to write, whether I am creating words and pictures from my imagination, or indeed giving voice to others; words are how I roll!
I adore the sound, the feel and the rhythm of words, the tenacious power of a sales letter, the enveloping softness of a ballad, the sweeping landscape of a descriptive novel, the flow of emotion, building and falling, within a great work.
I love it all.
And I am also a seeker, a lifetime seeker.
From an early age I wanted to learn. Not at school, of course, where you don’t so much learn as ingest and regurgitate. My learning came from asking questions. The ‘How’ of a thing was my main motivation.
‘How does and engine work?’ I would ask my engineer father repeatedly. (I think I may possibly understand this one now, but don’t test me on it!)
‘How did you come to be running this business?’ I will always ask of new business owners I meet, whether they are running a new local cafe, setting up a craft page on Etsy or indeed launching their own Feminine Business online. I always feel the deep need to know why they got involved, what passion they are feeding and where they really want to be.
This is the stuff of life and today I had a realisation.

As I walked in the rain with my dogs, I passed two young boys playing on scooters. As we passed, one noticed that my Rottweiler, Gypsy, was limping badly. I heard him say ‘Look at that dog’, to his friend.
Now most people would walk straight past, possibly not even noticing the boys in the first place, but I was acutely aware of them, that they were playing out in the rain, enjoying their half term holiday freedoms, and, as all young people are, they want to learn. To know more. To discover.
So I stopped and acknowledged them, the one boy looked at me and stated – not asked – ‘He’s hurt his leg’. (Everyone thinks all Rottweiler’s are male, it’s just the way it is!) I replied to his statement by saying, ‘Yes, She has hurt her leg. You see how my leg stops straight and my knee doesn’t flop about? Well, that uses a muscle called the Cruciate Ligament, and Gypsy snapped hers!’
‘Ugh!’ they both responded, staring at the broken dog, her near hind leg swinging uselessly, whilst she sniffed happily around.
‘Yes’, I added, ‘poor girl. She’s an old lady now. Can you guess how old she is?’
The second boy guessed 15, which I told him was a great guess, but she was not quite that old. The first boy guessed 10, which is spot on!
‘Ten is old for a big dog like Gypsy,’ I added, before asking’ I bet you’re 10 aren’t you?’
Yes, agreed the boys. ‘Well, you’re not old are you?’ (I felt I was digging deep here, in the understanding of how ten years means different things to dogs and people) The boys were engaged and immersed then. I mentioned that in human years Gypsy was about 70 years old, like a granny.
One boy piped up, ‘My nan is 93!’
‘Wow,’ I responded, ‘That’s the oldest granny in the world!’ and I laughed as the second boy immediately corrected me (I love it when they do that) ‘No, the oldest granny is 115!’ He said certainly.
The second boy added, ‘My granny is going for the record,’ and he sounded really proud. I could feel that we were venturing toward talk of death, so I thought it best to end my conversation, and thanked them for the chat, before heading home. As I left one boy asked me ‘Where do you live?’ and I understood his need to feel safe, having talked with this stranger in the street. I gave him a clue, without details and waved goodbye, realising that, yet again, I had been drawn into storytelling, sharing information and teaching.
Another penny has dropped. Yes I am a WordSmith, yes I am a story teller, yes I am a teacher. But I respond the needs of those I meet. I am not carrying some great tale that needs to be told. I am not an expert in anything that I can teach to others (I am only the expert at being me) but I do tell a damn good story.
So finally, I realise my product or service is simply this: I can tell your story: To your customers; to your family; to your friends; to the world.
If you want to connect, and form deep, lasting relationships with your clients; or if you have something powerful you want to pass on to your loved ones, a secret or a revelation, I can help you find the words.
I can provide you with the perfect Eulogy or Wedding Blessing. I can create a proposal, or help you to settle an argument. I can give words to your voice and help you really get your message across.
All you need to do is talk to me, tell me what matters to you, what you value and what you love. Let me discover WHO YOU ARE and then let me do the rest.
I can write content for your website, craft the perfect post for your social media.
They say ‘Write what you know’, and I know words.

They are magical. They have power. Certain words hit home, strike right to the heart of the matter and really pull no punches. I have studied numerology and the Tarot and believe that words are truly magical and are the means to make your dreams manifest.
We all use magical words every day, and many of us ritualise those words. Some call it prayer, others Spell Casting, still others refer to Offering a Blessing but I call it Story Telling; Talking from the heart and soul. Saying what really matters and bearing your inner self for all to see. This is true authenticity (Great word) and it is the basis of ALL my work.
If you know what you want to say, but just can’t find the words, you need to hire The WordSmith for a consultation, and let’s get your message out there!

One thought on “The True Art of Story Telling and why You need a Word Smith on your Team.

Leave a Reply

